Chevron

Friday, September 19, 2014

Supple Skin with Foxbrim


Although I recently reviewed a moisturizer that I think will be perfect for Winter, I want to focus on another moisturizer that is great year round: Foxbrim's Complete Anti-Aging Moisturizer. I have skin that leans on the border of not dry to almost oily during the Summer months, and disgustingly dry in the Winter months. I have found that I need to change the way I moisturize my skin throughout the seasons to keep from looking like I either rubbed my face all over a greasy pizza, or like I may be experiencing a bout of Leprocy. I have found great success with using a lighter moisturizer in the warmer months, and a heavier one in the colder months. I recently was given the opportunity to try out Foxbrim's Retinol-Based Anti-Aging Moisturizer, and am very satisfied with it's performance.


I LOVE the pump top. I cannot express how truly magnificent all beauty products would be if they just used a pump top. It is mess-free, less wasteful, more attractive and just all around the best idea ever. The moisturizer itself has the consistency of a lotion, so it goes on evenly, and is not thick or overpowering. It is fragrance free, making it non-irritating to your skin, or your senses. The Foxbrim Complete Anti-
Agng Moisturizer contains a generous 1% of Retinol, with the added benefit of Vitamin A and antioxidants to reduce the drying and flakiness that can be common with Retinol exposure. Due to the organic and natural ingredients, this moisturizer is best for all skin types, even sensitive skin!


I use this morning and night after washing and toning my face. I have found that it provides all day (or night) moisture in a non-greasy or irritating way. I prefer using this during the warmer months because it is so lightweight for having such a creamy consistency. I think this would be perfect for someone who is blessed with "normal" skin, as they could use it year round. I feel that I need something heavier in the colder months to make up for my dry, dry skin, but I am willing to ride this one out as far as I can to see if it can get me through those harsh Winter months. As always, I am also a huge fan of any company that makes it a priority to use natural and organic ingredients with no parabens, additives and remains cruelty-free. Even though that cute little fox is on the bottle, they do not test on animals!


If you are in need of a new moisturizer, and feel that you could benefit from the anti-aging effects of Retinol, I highly recommend the Foxbrim Complete Anti-Aging Moisturizer with 9 stars:

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
I would suggest you RUN to get it because it is currently only $17.95 on Amazon, when the list price is $79.99. Otherwise check out their website, or give them a shout out on Facebook (tell them Momma of 2 Review sent you), or follow them on Pinterest for all of your skincare ideas.

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Gearing Up For Fall with Adovia Moisturizing Day Cream


My heat has kicked on a couple of times in the past week which has reminded me that Fall truly is in the air, even though it is still Summer. One sure sign that the weather is changing is my skin. My nicely moisturized, radiant Summer skin becomes dull and DRY. I feel that the amount of lotion I go through is utterly ridiculous during the Fall and Winter months. The air becomes much drier, and it truly does a number on my skin. I was recently given the opportunity to try out a wonderful moisturizer from Adovia, and I think it will be perfect for my dry-prone skin this Winter.


I have tried a number of the Adovia products, and have found that they all smell pretty similar. It always reminds me of how my late grandmother's downstairs bathroom used to smell (in a good way!). It is a powdery, light scent. I have used the Adovia Moisturizing Day Cream a number of times since receiving it to provide proper review, but I am saving it for when my skin rebels against the cold and gets super dry. I love the heavy sturdy container that it comes in, which looks so sophisticated!



As you can see, it is a pretty thick formula, but a little goes a long way. I accidentally used too much once and had to wipe some off! I found that the moisturizer was quick to absorb, and dries to a matte finish providing no greasy mess. I loved this fact because the moisturizer (for me) doubles as a primer. Yay for fewer steps in my beauty routine! The Adovia Moisturizing Day Cream is formulated with premier Dead Sea minerals, is dermatologist-tested, and suitable for all skin types. My skin is pretty "moody" and changes by season, so I look forward to seeing how this moisturizer meets my needs overall. Additionally, I have acne-prone skin, so I appreciate products that work without causing further breakouts, and this held up! I experienced an all day moisture balance when I used the Adovia Moisturizing Day Cream, making it true to it's claims. On top of that, it comes with a money back guarantee, so you have nothing to use.

If you suffer from overly dry skin or skin that gets dry as the seasons change, I highly recommend the Adovia Moisturizing Day Cream with 8 stars:

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
You can purchase this on Amazon HERE. While the suggested price is $46.00, it is currently $25.95 for the 1.7 fluid ounce size. Almost half off!

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Getting Down With the NewTrain Album - Bulletproof Picasso

I can still remember the first time I ever heard a Train song. It was "Meet Virginia", and I was in Middle School at my friend's house. I'm pretty sure her older brother was listening to it, and they were new on the music scene, so their music was only playing on the radio stations that promoted "indie" groups, or those that were still infants in the eyes of the music industry. It's s funny to think back on that time, which was over 15 years ago, and then to see where they are now. TODAY, the Grammy-winning San Francisco band Train is releasing their 7th studio album: Bulletproof Picasso.



For the most part, every time I hear a Train song I start out with my head be-bopping to the music, and before I know it, I am having a full-on dance party with myself, or in my car, while completely embarrassing my kids. Its good for the soul to do that often - doctor's orders! I have been a Train fan for years so I was THRILLED when I was given the opportunity to receive their latest album in exchange for an honest review. At the time, we were prepping the house for a garage sale which, if you have ever done, causes utter disarray in your life. As I was cleaning up the aftermath I decided to peak my motivation with the Bulletproof Picasso album, and it worked! I jammed my way through it AND got so much accomplished! Each of the songs are catchy, have relevant lyrics, and make you want to move (with the exception of the last song "Don't Grow Up", which literally made me cry because it pulled at my heart strings). You have likely heard "Angel in Blue Jeans", as it has already made it to the Top 15 of Triple A and Top 40 radio in merely a month, as I anticipate many more from this album will do too!




For your knowledge, here are the band members: Pat Monahan (vocals), Jimmy Stafford (lead guitar), Jerry Becker (rhythm guitar and piano), Hector Maldonado (bass), and Drew Shoals (drums). Nice looking group if you ask me! 


I enjoy listening to Bulletproof Picasso regularly and truly like each and every song on the album. For that, it gets 10 stars from me - I rarely find albums where every song is a personal hit:

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
If you are a long time lover of Train, or are just getting around to appreciating their awesome-ness, I highly advise you to grab Bulletproof Picasso from iTunes or Amazon TODAY!

Be sure to check out their website and keep up with their adventures on YouTube, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.  

I will leave you with their music video for "Cadillac, Cadillac" - its catchy, so be prepared to have it stuck in your head the rest of the day:




Disclosure: I participated in the Train Bulletproof Picasso album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided a free album to review but all opinions are my own.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Review: The Super Heroes Bible in 3D, NIrV

*Zondervan provided me with a free copy of this book for reviewing purposes.

The Super Heroes Bible in 3D is a phenomenal option for the little men in your life. Boys spend much of their youth looking for people/figures to look up to and act like, and who better than some of the biblical "super heroes"? This is a Children's Bible that has much appeal to get the young men in your life interested and excited to read the Bible. When this was delivered, my son was all over it - He thought it was super-cool! He even brought it to school, and who knows if that is even allowed these days?  The 3D aspect of it truly gives this Children's Bible a very competitive edge. Additionally, there are special feature sections (authored by Jean Syswerda) which spotlight important biblical figures, emphasizing their strengths and explaining why, as a moral person, you should strive to be like them. On top of that there is even a special Super Hero Decoder that allows kids to relate different symbols (i.e. ♥ = Loving, † =Believes, ♦=Trusted, = Helpful - Check out the second picture in this post for the entire list) to these people they are introduced to throughout the Bible. This is also the New International Reader's Version (NIrV) Bible, and is very simple to read and comprehend making it a superior choice for children.



I'm a fan of The Super Heroes Bible in 3D because my son is so crazy about it. I know that it was the 3D capabilities that drew him in, but sometimes he needs a little persuasion and something that grabs his attention in order to hold his interest. I personally would choose this Bible over my own because it makes the often complicated and confusing jargon in the Bible, well.....elementary. It uses basic language that is easily understood. I feel that the added features in this Children's Bible make it that much more engaging and comprehensible. As a Children's Bible, I appreciate the hardcover and durability that it provides. The only thing missing is waterproof pages! The illustrations, by Denis Jones, are great, and the 40 full-color 3D pages scattered throughout are absolutely amazing!



I highly recommend The Super Heroes Bible in 3D to anyone on the market for a Bible with the aforementioned features, it has been wonderful for us thus far, and I give it 10 stars:

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
Disclosure: I received this item for free in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are my own.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Mud Mask to the Rescue - Review of Barefaced Dead Sea Mud Mask


I don't know why I never got into masks a long time ago I'm nit sure if I thought they would take up too much time, or that they wouldn't work or what, but I was seriously depriving myself of the fun that is to be had when you use face masks. A few times a week, I will take the extra time, whether it be before bed (if I'm not too tired) or in the morning (if I'm not running around like a chicken with it's head cut off) and use a face mask depending on the state of my bi-polar face. I love when I get the opportunity to try skincare items because it is exciting to discover new products, and the masks have been one of my favorites lately! My most recent trial features the Barefaced Dead Sea Mud Mask.



This mask comes in a very generous 6 ounce size, giving you over 30 applications per jar. Because I am such the face mask connoisseur, I have a few different masks that I use once per week. This way, the majority of my skincare concerns are addressed each week by a different mask, AND they last longer! I'm digging that the Barefaced Dead Sea Mud Mask is super thick - like pudding! I find it easy to scoop up and apply. Plus, the dark color makes it very easy to ensure your face is covered and receiving those pore-purging benefits. I normally keep it on for 15 minutes before wiping and washing it off of my face. It provides a bit of a tingle, so you know it is working deep down in those pores. Plus, it smells very refreshing and energizing, as the mask contains Lavender, Aloe Vera and Eucalyptus oils.


The Barefaced Dead Sea Mud Mask is developed with natural and organic ingredients, ensuring that you are only putting the best on your skin. It is also paraben and cruelty-free as well! This mask declares it's ability to brighten and renew dull skin, prevent those stubborn wrinkles with the anti-aging healing properties of Dead Sea minerals, and also provides relief for recurring issues such as rosacea, psoriasis, acne and eczema. If you have been reading my blog long enough (and you should be!), you know that I suffer from acne on the regular. I have found that this mask does provide relief for my pimples, and does so without zapping away moisture. In fact, I found that many pimples came to a head immediately after using this mask, giving me proof that it is pulling the gunk out of my pores.
                       
                            

Clearly, I like to have fun while  I wear my mask! I have certainly enjoyed my experience with the Bareface Dead Sea Mud Mask, and it has quickly become one of the masks I use on a weekly basis to rid my pores of the nastiness that inhabits them. One tip that I will share, is to wash this one off with a wash cloth. The mask is very thick, so when it dries it can be difficult to get off with warm water and your hands alone.

I love what this mask does for my stubborn skin, and for that, I give it 9 stars:

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
Interested in getting your paws on your very own? Head on over to HERE to grab a jar (or two) for the discounted price of $27.98. This offer will not last long, and neither will their stock. You can also save an additional 20% when you purchase 2 jars with code: LVE9RXWC. 



I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Monday, September 8, 2014

Why You Need Coconut Oil in Your Life STAT! - Review of Thera Vita Paradise Organic Cocnut Oil


I am such a Coconut Oil obsessed freak. It was one of those things that got really big, and I think I avoided it because I thought it was strange, and then I tried it and I can't turn back. Seriously, this is one of those products that can replace a number of products throughout your entire household. I recently was given the opportunity to try Thera Vita Paradise Coconut Oil.


Coconut Oil can be used for so many different things, making it a truly innovative and versatile product. Not to mention, if you buy unrefined and virgin coconut oil (which the Thera Vita Paradise Coconut Oil is), you are getting coconut oil in its purest form, sans nasty chemicals and toxins that make it unnatural and ineffective. Most commonly this oil is used as a body moisturizer, hair conditioner/softener/repairer, skin moisturizer, eye make-up remover, diaper rash treatment, for oil pulling, in place of butter/margarine for cooking, and as an appetite suppressant. This list by no means encompasses the true variety of ailments this stuff can cure, it is simply a brief list. For the most part, this oil is odorless and tasteless (there is a slight hint of coconut smell and flavor, but it is very subtle), which makes it easy to apply or ingest without being turned off by a smell or taste. It is important to remember that coconut oil is a solid at room temperature, but turns into a liquid at 76˚ F



As you can see, when I received the Thera Vita Paradise Coconut Oil, it was in solid form. When I dipped my finger into it, here is what happened:




Here, you can that the texture is much like soft butter or thick body cream. One of my favorite uses for Coconut Oil is oil pulling. This is where you swish the oil in your mouth for 15-20 minutes once per day and then spit it out (not in the toilet or shower - trash can only!). It is said to rid your mouth and your body of bacteria, keeps your teeth and gums very healthy, and even whitens your teeth. For me personally, it does exactly that. I have very sensitive teeth and gums that bleed quite often. As soon as I started oil pulling, bleeding gums were no longer an issue, my sensitive areas were much less sensitive, and I noticed my teeth whitening almost immediately!


Day 2 on top, Day 6 on the bottom
I have been enjoying the Thera Vita Paradise Coconut Oil and certainly recommend it with 10 stars!

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

If you are looking for a high-quality, cold-pressed, extra virgin, unrefined, certified USDA organic, non-GMO, cholesterol free, BPA free, gluten free and vegan coconut oil that comes with a money back guarantee, go here to grab your very own 16 ounce jar for $19.95. 


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Friday, September 5, 2014

This Shea is Bananas! - Featuring Cleopatra's Choice 100% Pure African Shea Butter


Oh Shea Butter, how I love thee... Let me count the ways! First of all, if you don't know what Shea Butter is, you are seriously missing out. I am willing to bet that right now you own products that have this ingredient in it, and may not even know it. It is an commonly found in cosmetics, moisturizers and body lotions/creams. In fact, a quick trip to Pinterest will land you with THOUSANDS of recipes using this innovative ingredient to concoct your very own bar soap, body lotion, shave cream, deep hair conditioner, lip balm, lip stain/stick, cuticle cream.... Would you like me to continue? I recently received a one pound tub of Cleopatra's Choice 100% Pure African Shea Butter and am planning to turn into a mad scientist creating all-natural homemade beauty goodies (if I don't use it up all by itself first).


As you can see from the container, Pure African Shea Butter has a multitude of benefits to offer! First and most important to me is the fact that this is unrefined and organic. This tells me that while it is being made, it is not being exposed to chemicals and toxins, and they are not added in after to elongate its shelf life. Lotion shouldn't need to last 30 years, in my humble opinion. What I love about this particular formula is that it is fast-absorbing. I feel as though I am constantly on a time crunch, so I have little time to wait around for my lotion to dry so I can open the bathroom door. When this goes on it looks greasy, but quickly absorbs, nourishing your skin and leaving it touch-ably smooth. While I am inspired to create my own personalized body butter with this stuff, I find myself using it on it's own quite often. It has a very bland scent which makes it perfect for mixing with essential oils to create a fragrance you prefer. I also use it as a moisturizer for my lips, and plan to make my own lip balm once I can find a cute container to keep it in. It keeps my lips feeling moisturized and heals the dry, flaky skin. With Winter just around the corner, I know I will be grabbing for the Shea Butter often. Even now, I will grab a small bit of brown sugar, mix it with a small bit of the Shea Butter, and use it as a moisturizing lip scrub. The brown sugar scrapes off the dead skin allowing the fresh, new skin to absorb the Vitamins A and E from the Shea Butter. Super-quick beauty treatment that allows your glosses and lipsticks to apply flawlessly.


As you can see in the picture, it has an ivory color to it (sometimes it is yellow), and it has a hard texture (not rock hard, just solid) in the container. Once you touch it, it heats up enough to become more malleable and you can rub it on! The Cleopatra's Choice 100% Pure African Shea Butter is also a Fair-Trade product, which increases my desire to purchase this brand again and again. It is nice when your purchase gives back too.

If you are interested in trying Shea Butter for the many benefits it provides, or to create your own personalized toxin-free health and beauty products, I highly recommended the Cleopatra's Choice 100% Pure African Shea Butter. It can be purchased from Amazon here. Currently the one-pound tub is on sale for $11.95 which is extremely reasonable! Additionally, they offer a 1-year 100% satisfaction guarantee, so you truly have nothing to lose!

I have loved using this Shea Butter and I give it 10 stars:

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.
UA-40207773-1